Cabinet Report Cards 2012: A year of disappointments

Year of disappointments

There is more than a little irony in this year`s Mail & Guardian report cards, with grades considered before the ANC`s national conference but published as the Bloemfontein dust is still settling.

The only minister to achieve an A, Trevor Manuel, is stepping back from ANC involvement.
Kgalema Motlanthe and Fikile Mbalula, who got Bs, were caught on the wrong side of the conference. Jacob Zuma, the man overwhelmingly selected by the party to lead it, rated an F.

The question of ANC leadership was, we can safely assume, a difficult distraction for ministers. On top of that, too many departments found themselves entangled in matters that reflect leadership – and a lack thereof – but has nothing to do with actual service delivery: VIP flights, Nkandla and Zumaville, fears of nationalisation and handling the fallout of unconscionable appointments in key jobs.

In 2013 it is likely there will be a likely purge, or fear of a purge of sympathisers of the anti-Zuma camp with much the same crippling effect, plus what seems like inevitable scandals based in corruption, mismanagement and entitlement. It bodes ill for any improvement in terms of the actual business of government and transformation of society.


A: Take a bow. You are doing an excellent job

B: Good, but room for improvement

C: You are okay

D: Get your act together

E: Do yourself and the country
a favour - resign

F: You are fired

Report cards compiled by

Andisiwe Makinana
Charles Molele
David Macfarlane
Glynnis Underhill
Kwanele Sosibo
Lisa Steyn
Lloyd Gedye
Lynley Donnelly
Matthew Krouse
Matume Letsoalo
Mia Malan
Mmanaledi Mataboge
Nic Dawes
Nelisiwe Shamase
Niren Tolsi
Sipho Kings
Rapule Tabane
Sally Evans
Sam Sole
Stefaans Brümmer

Name Portfolio
Jacob Zuma President
Kgalema Motlanthe Deputy President
Collins Chabane Minister in the Presidency, Performance Monitoring and Evaluation
Aaron Motsoaledi Minister of Health
Angie Motshekga Minister of Basic Education
Bathabile Dlamini Minister of Social Development
Blade Nzimande Minister of Higher Education and Training
Derek Hanekom Minister of Science and Technology
Dikobe Ben Martins Minister of Transport
Dina Deliwe Pule Minister of Communications
Dipuo Peters Minister of Energy
Ebrahim Patel Minister of Economic Development
Edna Molewa Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs
Fikile Mbalula Minister of Sport and Recreation
Gugile Nkwinti Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform
Jeff Radebe Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development
Lindiwe Sisulu Minister of Public Service and Administration
Lulu Xingwana Minister of Women, Youth, Children and People with Disabilities
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane Minister of International Relations and Cooperation
Malusi Gigaba Minister of Public Enterprises
Marthinus Van Schalkwyk Minister of Tourism
Mildred Oliphant Minister of Labour
Naledi Pandor Minister of Home Affairs
Nathi Mthethwa Minister of Police
Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula Minister of Defence and Military Veterans
Paul Mashatile Minister of Arts and Culture
Pravin Gordhan Minister of Finance
Richard Baloyi Minister of cooperative governance and traditional affairs
Robert Davies Minister of Trade and Industry
Sibusiso Ndebele Minister of Correctional Services
Siyabonga Cwele Minister of State Security
Susan Shabangu Minister of Mineral Resources
Thulas Nxesi Minister of Public Works
Tina Joemat-Pettersson Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Tokyo Sexwale Minister of Human Settlements
Trevor Manuel Minister of Planning
Hlengiwe Mkhize Minister of Higher Education and Training