Cabinet Report Cards 2013: On your marks, get set ... FAIL

Foreword by editor in chief

The first term of office of President Jacob Zuma and his Cabinet is almost over, and this year`s report card is as much a grade for the past year as it is a measure of his administration`s five years in government. It shows that, despite a few star performers, Zuma`s executive is at best mediocre and at worst dismal. As we state in Zuma`s report card, a fish rots from the head down, and this is exactly what we have witnessed over the years: a decline in good governance and accountability that began right at the top.


A: Take a bow. You are doing an excellent job

B: Good, but room for improvement

C: You are okay

D: Get your act together

E: Do yourself and the country
a favour - resign

F: You are fired

Report cards compiled by:
Andisiwe Makinana
Charles Molele
David Macfarlane
Glynnis Underhill
Kwanele Sosibo
Lisa Steyn
Lloyd Gedye
Lynley Donnelly
Matthew Krouse
Matume Letsoalo
Mia Malan
Mmanaledi Mataboge
Nic Dawes
Nelisiwe Shamase
Niren Tolsi
Sipho Kings
Rapule Tabane
Sally Evans
Sam Sole
Stefaans Brummer

Name Portfolio
Jacob Zuma President
Kgalema Motlanthe Deputy President
Collins Chabane Minister in the Presidency: Performance Monitoring, Evaluation and Administration
Aaron Motsoaledi Minister of Health
Angie Motshekga Minister of Basic Education
Bathabile Dlamini Minister of Social Development
Ben Martins Minister of Energy
Blade Nzimande Minister of Higher Education and Training
Connie September Minister of Human Settlements
Derek Hanekom Minister of Science and Technology
Dipuo Peters Minister of Transport
Ebrahim Patel Minister of Economic Development
Edna Molewa Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs
Fikile Mbalula Minister of Sport and Recreation
Gugile Nkwinti Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform
Jeff Radebe Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development
Lechesa Tsenoli Minister of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs
Lindiwe Sisulu Minister of Public Service and Administration
Lulu Xingwana Minister of Women, Youth, Children and People with Disabilities
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane Minister of International Relations and Co-operation
Malusi Gigaba Minister of Public Enterprises
Marthinus Van Schalkwyk Minister of Tourism
Mildred Oliphant Minister of Labour
Naledi Pandor Minister of Home Affairs
Nathi Mthethwa Minister of Police
Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula Minister of Defence and Military Veterans
Paul Mashatile Minister of Arts and Culture
Pravin Gordhan Minister of Finance
Robert Davies Minister of Trade and Industry
Sibusiso Ndebele Minister of Correctional Services
Siyabonga Cwele Minister of State Security
Susan Shabangu Minister of Mineral Resources
Thulas Nxesi Minister of Public Works
Tina Joemat-Pettersson Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Trevor Manuel The Presidency: National Planning Commission
Yunus Carrim Minister of Communications