Cabinet Report Cards 2014: We think it's time we called in your parents

It's President Jacob Zuma's last term as South Africa president and a chance to learn from the mistakes of his first five years as head of government. In particular it's an opportunity to salvage his legacy, but so far the signs are far from encouraging. 

Our annual report card once again shows few stars in a sea of mediocrity and even incompetence, at a time when South Africans need inspirational leadership, vision and verve. 

Some Cabinet ministers have only been in the job for seven months and may yet prove themselves, but with a local government election in 2016 and an ANC succession battle ahead of 2017, it may well be that the affairs of state will come second to personal ambition and the vagaries of the governing party's dynamics.

Report cards compiled by

Andisiwe Makinana

Angela Quintal

Chantelle Benjamin
Craig McKune

David Macfarlane
Glynnis Underhill 

Kevin Davie
Kwanele Sosibo
Lisa Steyn
Lynley Donnelly 

Manqoba Nxumalo
Matuma Letsoalo
Mia Malan
Mmanaledi Mataboge
Phillip de Wet

Rapule Tabane
Sally Evans
Sam Sole

Sarah Wild

Sipho Kings

Tabelo Timse
Thalia Holmes

Verashni Pillay

Name Portfolio
Jacob Zuma President
Cyril Ramaphosa Deputy President
Jeff Radebe Minister of the Presidency
Aaron Motsoaledi Minister of Health
Angie Motshekga Minister of Basic Education
Bathabile Dlamini Minister of Social Development
Blade Nzimande Minister of Higher Education and Training
Collins Chabane Minister of Public Service and Administration
David Mahlobo Minister of State Security
Derek Hanekom Minister of Tourism
Dipuo Peters Minister of Transport
Ebrahim Patel Minister of Economic Development
Edna Molewa Minister of Environmental Affairs
Faith Muthambi Minister of Communications
Fikile Mbalula Minister of Sport and Recreation
Gugile Nkwinti Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform
Lindiwe Sisulu Minister of Human Settlements
Lindiwe Zulu Minister of Small Business and Development
Lynne Brown Minister of Public Enterprises
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane Minister of International Relations
Malusi Gigaba Minister of Home Affairs
Mike Masutha Minister of Justice and Correctional Services
Mildred Oliphant Minister of Labour
Naledi Pandor Minister of Science and Technology
Nathi Mthethwa Minister of Arts and Culture
Ngoako Ramatlhodi Minister of Mineral Resources
Nhlanhla Nene Minister of Finance
Nkosinathi Nhleko Minister of Police
Nomvula Mokonyane Minister of Water and Sanitation
Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula Minister of ​Defence and Military Veterans
Pravin Gordhan Minister of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs
Rob Davies Minister of Trade and Industry
Senzeni Zokwana Minister of ​Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Siyabonga Cwele Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services
Susan Shabangu Minister of Women in the Presidency
Thulas Nxesi Minister of Public Works
Tina Joemat-Pettersson Minister of Energy