Cabinet Report Cards 2016: Ministers from A to We give up

Scoring the Cabinet ministers every year is a tradition at the Mail & Guardian

It has been a tumultuous year in South African politics. A cyclone raged around the president, and the finance minister was subjected to a storm of questions and accusations. Other ministers rushed to help the Guptas get their bank accounts back, while the national broadcaster fell apart. Did the Cabinet rise to the occasion? How many actually did their ministerial jobs?

We examine all the ministers’ records for 2016 and grade them on their achievements or lack thereof.

The report cards were compiled by:
Pauli van Wyk
Thebe Mabanga
Lisa Steyn
Kwanele Sosibo
Sipho Kings
Prega Govender
Mia Malan
Lynley Donnelly
Jessica Bezuidenhout
Athandiwe Saba
Charles Molele
Dineo Bendile
Govan Whittles
Milisuthando Bongela
Beauregard Tromp
Khadija Patel
Firdose Moonda
Matuma Letsoalo

Drawings: John McCann

Name Portfolio
Jacob Zuma President
Cyril Ramaphosa Deputy President
Pravin Gordhan Minister of Finance
Jeff Radebe Minister of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation
Blade Nzimande Minister of Higher Education
Ngoako Ramatlhodi Minister of Public Service and Administration
Bathabile Dlamini Minister of Social Development
Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula Minister of Defence and Military Veterans
Mildred Oliphant Minister of Labour
Faith Muthambi Minister of Communications
Nomvula Mokonyane Minister of Water Affairs
Aaron Motsoaledi Minister of Health
Senzeni Zokwana Minister of Agriculture
Susan Shabangu Minister of Women in the Presidency
Rob Davies Minister of Trade and Industry
Naledi Pandor Minister of Science and Technology
Dipuo Peters Minister of Transport
Nathi Nhleko Minister of Police
Angie Motshekga Minister of Basic Education
Lindiwe Sisulu Minister of Human Settlements
Michael Masutha Minister of Justice and Correctional Services
Mosebenzi Zwane Minister of Mineral Resources
Thulas Nxesi Minister of Public Works
Malusi Gigaba Minister of Home Affairs
Lindiwe Zulu Minister of Small Business Development
Des van Rooyen Minister of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs
David Mahlobo Minister of State Security
Siyabonga Cwele Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane Minister of International Relations and Co-operation
Tina Joemat-Pettersson Minister of Energy
Ebrahim Patel Minister of Economic Development
Gugile Nkwinti Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform
Lynne Brown Minister of Public Enterprises
Nathi Mthethwa Minister of Arts and Culture
Edna Molewa Minister of Environmental Affairs
Fikile Mbalula Minister of Sport and Recreation
Derek Hanekom Minister of Tourism