Cabinet Report Cards 2017: Leaders and Losers

Leaders & Losers

The M&G cabinet report cards has become a respected barometer of government performance. Months in the making, these report cards are the most comprehensive snapshot of the performance of President Jacob Zuma's cabinet. We tell you who is failing and who is slaying – who is leading and who is losing. And it really isn't all bad news - some ministers really are just getting on with it.

Name Portfolio
Bongani Bongo Minister of State Security
Aaron Motsoaledi Minister of Health
Angie Motshekga Minister of Basic Education
Ayanda Dlodlo Minister of Home Affairs
Bathabile Dlamini Minister of Social Development
Cyril Ramaphosa Deputy President
David Mahlobo Minister of Energy
Des van Rooyen Minister of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs
Ebrahim Patel Minister of Economic Development
Edna Molewa Minister of Environmental Affairs
Faith Muthambi Minister of Public Service and Administration
Gugile Nkwinti Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform
Hlengiwe Mkhize Minister of Higher Education and Training
Jacob Zuma President
Jeff Radebe Minister of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation
Joe Maswanganyi Minister of Transport
Lindiwe Sisulu Minister of Human Settlements
Lindiwe Zulu Minister of Small Business Development
Lynne Brown Minister of Public Enterprises
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane Minister of International Relations and Co-operation
Malusi Gigaba Minister of Finance
Michael Masutha Minister of Justice and Correctional Services
Mildred Oliphant Minister of Labour
Mmamoloko Tryphosa Kubayi Minister of Communication
Mosebenzi Zwane Minister of Mineral Resources
Naledi Pandor Minister of Science and Technology
Nathi Mthethwa Minister of Arts and Culture
Nathi Nhleko Minister of Public Works
Nomvula Mokonyane Minister of Water and Sanitation
Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula Minister of Defence and Military Veterans
Rob Davies Minister of Trade and Industry
Senzeni Zokwana Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Siyabonga Cwele Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services
Susan Shabangu Minister of Women in the Presidency
Tokozile Xasa Minister of Tourism
​Thulas Nxesi Minister of Sport and Recreation